Early in 1959, house-to-house visits were made in the Vero Beach area to see if a United Lutheran Church was desired.
By the end of 1959, five acres on the corner of Sixth Avenue and 18th Street were purchased for what would become our congregational home. Our Savior Evangelical Lutheran Church was “born” on December 17, 1961, with 70 charter members.
On February 1, 1959, the Rev. John Meyer arrived as the first mission developer, and the first worship service was held in the first “church home” – Carpenters’ Hall. Worship services began November 13, 1960, in the second “church home,” a duplex house on the present church site. On December 31, 1960, Pastor Meyer resigned, and on
May 18, 1961, the Rev. Harvey J. Sindahl, a second mission developer, resumed the task of organizing the mission – remaining until July, 1964, when he accepted a call to New York.
The Church Is Built. The Rev. William Jensen was called in July 1964. Under his leadership, the first church building and office wing were built and dedicated in May 1966. Pastor Jensen retired from Our Savior in June 1977.
Pastor Jack Arrives. In September 1977 the Rev. Andrew C. (Jack) Diehl, III, became the pastor of Our Savior.
New Sanctuary and Offices – In February 1983 a new church building and offices were dedicated.
The educational center, memorial garden columbarium, and additional office and worship space were dedicated in 1988. Music has always been an important part of Our Savior’s ministry. From 1988 until 1999, Linda Fox was the part-time director of music, bringing a wealth of musical experience to the congregation, and leading a vibrant music program.
For nearly 20 years, Karen Diehl was the director of Christian Education in both volunteer and part time paid positions. Under her direction, in 1992 Our Savior began one of the most popular summer day camps in Vero Beach, when she hosted and coordinated the Lutheran Outdoor Ministries of Florida day camp program on our site.
Over the years, Our Savior has been blessed with a number of wonderful retired pastors who have served in various capacities, including Pastor Richard Clark who is presently still active at Our Savior. From 1994 to 1997, Our Savior was a site for the ELCA Internship Program. During those years the following served as interns at Our Savior during their 3rd year of seminary training: Pastor David Keck, Pastor Diane Loberger, and Pastor Mark Lerseth.
Pastor Loberger came back and served as associate pastor at Our Savior from 1997 until she received a call to a solo pastor position in Tamarac, Florida in December of 2003.
In the spring of 2004, Jim Boschker, a rostered Associate in Ministry with the ELCA, accepted the call to be our full time director of music/organist. His musical talent, experience, churchmanship and understanding of worship were a wonderful gift to Our Savior through 2011.
Jimmy Smith joined us to lead our growing Youth Ministry. Bonnie Lanyi became our Parish Nurse. She co-leads a Health Ministry Team with two volunteer Parish Nurses: Rachel Little, MSN, and Frances Stroh, RN MA.
Pastor Shelly Arrives. In 2007, the Rev. Shelly Satran was installed as our Associate Pastor on February 1.
Building began on a new entrance and bell tower, and was finished and dedicated at the end of the year.
In May of 2012, Ryan Hostler was installed as Associate in Ministry for Music and Worship and was tasked with rebuilding a music program of all ages.